Poem by Edward Hays from “Earth Prayers”

The following is a poem by Edward Hays from Earth Prayers.  I was reading Kathy Thompson’s (Follow Your Heart Yoga, http://www.followyourheartyoga.com) Heartlight Newsletter, August 2012 and thought it would be nice to share.   As time passes, I am learning to become aware of the tendency to disregard what I have and always searching for more, leading to a life filled with non-contentment.

 

O sacred season of Autumn, be my teacher, for I wish to learn the virtue of contentment.  As I gaze upon your full-colored beauty, I sense all about you an at-homeness with your amber riches.

You are the season of retirement, of full barns and harvested fields.  The cycle of growth has ceased, and the busy work of giving life is now completed. I sense in you no regrets: you’ve lived a full life.

I live in a society that is ever-restless, always eager for more mountains to climb, seeing happiness through more and more possessions.  As a child of my culture, I am seldom truly at peace with what I have.  Teach me to take stock of what I have given and received, may I know that it’s enough, that my striving can cease in the abundance of God’s grace.  May I know the contentment that allows the totality of my energies to come to full flower.  May I know that like you I am rich beyond measure.

As you, O Autumn, take pleasure in your great bounty, let me also take delight in the abundance of the simple things in life which are the true source of joy.  With the golden glow of peaceful contentment may I truly appreciate this autumn day.

About Melissa Jeanne Calmes

Pilates & Belly Dance Instructor, Cellist, Yoga Practitioner, Designer--but at the same time, I am none of these...why be limiting?

2 thoughts on “Poem by Edward Hays from “Earth Prayers”

  1. As Eckhart Tolle discusses in his book, “A New Earth”, because ego is not fulfilled by having, we are in a constant state of wanting or needing more. Therefore, you will be constantly looking to fill that sense of lack within, looking for greater fulfillment.

  2. So true. I suppose the key is to recognize our ego is the driving force, set it aside and like the poem says, take stock in what we have given and received, being satisfied that, indeed, it is enough. I see in my life, consistently, where my ego drives me beyond this knowing, wearing me out as i try to work just a little bit harder and a little bit faster at my corporate day job, or finish one more cleaning and organizing project at home when a day of rest is called for, or diving into the next life change without fulling arriving at the one I am currently experiencing.

Leave a Reply

