PALEO DAYS

51F9XVQYELL._SL210_

Steph asked that I share Robb Wolf’s, the Paleo Solution and wanted to know if we would join her on the Paleo Solution cleanse she’s starting Monday.  I immediately texted, sure why not…when Steph suggests anything concerning nutrition, I’m all ears!  In the 20 or so odd years of knowing each other, she’s always doled out the best nutritional advice.

51GL0VIxv4L._SL125_

The very next thought?  If I’m putting up something Paleo, there’s NO way I can’t give mention to our sweet cousin Arsy’s new book that just came out.  the Paleo Slow Cooker…it’s been such a hit, the first run sold out immediately!!  Congratulations Arsy on all the hard work I know went into this.  Being on the other side of the world, I keep up with her through her cute, fun and informative paleo recipe and lifestyle blog, Rubies and Radishes. Her book is sold on Amazon.  Click directly on images to buy Arsy or Robb’s book from Amazon.

About Melissa Jeanne Calmes

Pilates & Belly Dance Instructor, Cellist, Yoga Practitioner, Designer--but at the same time, I am none of these...why be limiting?

6 thoughts on “PALEO DAYS

  1. No grains, no legumes are the only changes I’m making to my normal diet . I already avoid: wheat, dairy, corn, sugar and processed foods. I’ll keep you posted on my energy shifts, body changes and differences in mental clarity. Can’t wait to try this out!

    • I have always been drawn to it over the last several years because of my cousin Arsy’s enthusiasm with Paleo but never brought myself to actually try it. It drew me in because it’s not a fad diet but truly a lifestyle change. I’ll look forward to reading about your experiment as you go, and once I have a regular kitchen, I will start as well!!! Thank you Steph and Arsy!!

  2. Laura says:

    I’m in! Sebastian (my son) and I missed the Crossfit 2013 Paleo challenge at our gym (sheer laziness to not go on the starting day, silly me, human i am sometimes though), but with Arsy’s book having just come out and Steph inviting us to do the cleanse with her ~ I am ready!! sometimes when things come at us from different angles we need to heed the call and consider it as a subtle sign or push that we need to change something in our life. I think my diet is a final frontier in my quest for living a healthy lifestyle. even though for most outsider’s looking in, it appears that I feed myself and my son a fairly healthy array of foods, i know that there I can do my body even greater service to give up some of the things that i love most (sugarry yummy baked goodies, my total weakness!). So let’s put together a logbook of some sort girls to chart the different changes we go through. Spreadsheeting anyone??

  3. I love a spreadsheet!!!! Yes Laura, from the outside you really do eat very well. But this would take your diet to the next level. I will enthusiastically look forward to your experiment as well.

  4. Thank you so much for sharing my book and presenting it in such good company! I love all of Robb Wolf’s work. I’ve learned so much from him.
    I am so glad that you have all decided to try out the Paleo diet. My experience with it has been amazing, hence why I still follow it 4 years after my initial 30 day trial. All my health issues, headaches, lethargy went away when I took this approach to health and I had an incredibly health pregnancy. I was able to be back at my pre-pregnancy wait by my 6 week post partum check up. I am certain that is a direct result of my dietary choices. Committing to a paleo diet is not easy, especially the first couple of weeks. In my experience with talking with my friends and my blog readers, I have found that most people experience improved health, energy and physical appearence by the end of 30 days. A vast majority of those people tend to continue on the paleo path! Hope you ladies have a great experience with it! Please don’t hesitiate to reach out if you have any questions or need any suggestions.

  5. Arsy, thank you so much for taking time to give us a few thoughts on Paleo. I will be interested to see how Laura and Steph feel after they have done their 30 days. I truly believe what we feed ourselves has a huge impact on our health, energy levels and maladies. Being in Indonesia I have found it very difficult to maintain a level of nutrition that I have been used to. I can’t tell you how frustrating that has been! My worst enemy here has been sugar. It’s everywhere…in EVERYthing!

    According to the “Jakarta Globe” on November 8, 2012, the number of children diagnosed with diabetes in Indonesia over the last three years has increased by more than 400 percent. Some experts have estimated that three out of every 1,000 Indonesian children are diabetic. More initiatives need to be taken to help spread awareness and to implement change.

    I look forward to buying your new cookbook when I am back in the US this Spring. I will carry it back to Jakarta with enthusiasm so I may try out your delightful recipes I always find myself craving on your fun and enlightening http://www.rubiesandradishes.com/ blog.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

